Moonshot _ 26

sleep better

Frequent flyers and globetrotters know this: When travelling across several time zones, the inner clock needs a certain amount of time to adapt to the new conditions. The result: jet lag. This leads to disturbed sleep and daytime tiredness, lack of concentration and performance or even to stomach problems. Unfortunately, it is not possible to eliminate jet lag completely, but could a conscious diet at least alleviate the symptoms?

“I refer to jet lag as ‘jet-psychosis’ – there’s an old saying that the spirit cannot move faster than a camel.”

Spalding Gray

Clock out of rhythm

The biological or circadian clock plays an essential role for our preferred sleeping time, for the phase of our highest attention and for other physiological processes. The biological timer switches genes on and off at the right time, thus allowing the organism to adapt to the rotation of the earth. If the synchronisation between the physiological rhythm of our body and the rhythms of the environment is disturbed permanently or repeatedly, this not only reduces our performance, but also increases the risk of various diseases, such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, sleep disorders and cancer.[1]

If we suffer from jet lag, then our circadian rhythm is upset – our biological inner clock, which controls our sleep-wake rhythm. When we cross several time zones, our inner clock is no longer synchronized with the reality around us. Then our body needs some time to adjust to the rhythm of the new time zone.

 

The importance of the direction of travel

Jet lag is usually longer and more intense the more time zones you cross. For example, if you fly from Berlin to San Francisco for 14 days, the jet lag can last four to five days – this number corresponds to about half of the time zones crossed. If you fly from San Francisco back to Berlin, it can even take up to nine days to fully recover. Travelling east is generally more difficult for most people to digest, as they have to shorten their day-night rhythm. This is much more difficult for many people than prolonging it, as is the case with journeys to the west.

 

Escape from jet lag through nutrition

Whether long distance travel or simple shift work: the struggle with fatigue not only confuses people in their minds. The microbiome suffers too. The researchers led by Christoph Thaiss from the Weizmann Institute of Science first investigated in mice whether the composition of their intestinal flora changes within a 24-hour rhythm. And indeed: in the course of a day, the frequency of different types of bacteria increased and decreased again and again. The scientists then showed that the human intestinal flora is also subject to rhythmic fluctuations – and that jet lag also changes the composition of the bacteria.[2]

However, the right diet can reduce jet lag. For example, dinner should be enriched with ingredients that promote the release of insulin. This could turn the biological clock back a little towards morning. The exact opposite is then true for breakfast.[3]  In addition, a Harvard study found that fasting can also help to cope more quickly with the new local time.[4]

The research results therefore indicate that our diet can influence our biological clock.

  • – Whoever fasts 12 to 16 hours before arrival time and takes only water, resets his or her internal clock to zero – this makes a new start on site easier.
  • – If you land before 10 a.m. local time, you should have a light, protein-rich breakfast as soon as possible. If you land in the afternoon, a carbohydrate-rich meal around 4 pm is recommended. Continue with breakfast the next morning around 8 o’clock.
  • – Those who appreciate coffee as a stimulant can increase its effectiveness by abstaining from it for a few days before the trip. If you then take coffee as a pick-me-up in small portions, the stimulating effect lasts longer, instead of fizzling out all the more quickly with a mega dose after an explosive high.

How can we use these findings to develop specialized foods that help us overcome jet lag as quickly as possible?

 

[1] Miho Sato, The Role of the Endocrine System in Feeding-Induced Tissue-Specific Circadian Entrainment. Cell Reports, 2014

[2] Christoph A. Thaiss et al., Transkingdom Control of Microbiota Diurnal Oscillations Promotes Metabolic Homeostasis, Cell 159, 514–529, October 23, 2014

[3] Miho Sato, The Role of the Endocrine System in Feeding-Induced Tissue-Specific Circadian Entrainment. Cell Reports, 2014

[4] Patrick M. Fuller et al., Differential Rescue of Light- and Food-Entrainable Circadian Rhythms, Science, 23 May 2008

Our solution:

work in progress…

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies und unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu.

Moonshot _ 26

Besserer Schlaf

Vielflieger und Globetrotter kennen das: Bei Reisen über mehrere Zeitzonen hinweg braucht die innere Uhr eine gewisse Zeit, um sich den neuen Gegebenheiten anzupassen. Die Folge: Jetlag. Der führt zu gestörtem Schlaf und Tagesmüdigkeit, Konzentrations- und Leistungsschwäche oder sogar zu Magenproblemen. Unglücklicherweise kann man den Jetlag nicht ganz eliminieren, aber könnte man die Symptome durch eine bewusste Ernährung zumindest abschwächen?

„Ich bezeichne den Jetlag als ‚Jet-Psychose‘. Ein altes Sprichwort sagt, dass der Geist sich nicht schneller als ein Kamel bewegen kann.“

Spalding Gray

Uhr aus dem Rhythmus

Die biologische oder auch zirkadiane Uhr spielt eine wesentliche Rolle für unsere bevorzugte Schlafenszeit, für die Phase unserer höchsten Aufmerksamkeit und für weitere physiologische Prozesse. Der biologische Zeitgeber schaltet Gene zur richtigen Zeit ein und aus und erlaubt dem Organismus damit, sich an die Erdrotation anzupassen. Wird die Synchronisation zwischen dem physiologischen Rhythmus unseres Körpers und den umweltbedingten Rhythmen dauerhaft oder wiederholt gestört, verringert das nicht nur unsere Leistungsfähigkeit, sondern erhöht auch das Risiko diverser Erkrankungen, wie Diabetes, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Schlafstörungen und Krebs.[1]

Leiden wir unter Jetlag, dann ist unser zirkadianer Rhythmus durcheinander geraten – unsere biologische innere Uhr, die unseren Schlaf-Wach-Rhythmus kontrolliert. Durchqueren wir mehrere Zeitzonen, ist unsere innere Uhr nicht mehr synchron mit der Realität um uns herum. Dann braucht unser Körper etwas Zeit, um sich ab den Rhythmus der neuen Zeitzone anzupassen.

 

Die Bedeutung der Reiserichtung

Jetlag fällt in der Regel umso länger und intensiver aus, je mehr Zeitzonen man durchquert. Fliegt man beispielsweise für 14 Tage von Berlin nach San Francisco, kann der Jetlag vier bis fünf Tage dauern – diese Zahl entspricht in etwa der Hälfte der durchquerten Zeitzonen. Fliegt man von San Francisco zurück nach Berlin, kann es sogar bis zu neun Tage lang dauern, bis man sich wieder vollständig erholt hat. Reisen in Richtung Osten sind für die meisten Menschen generell schwerer zu verdauen, da sie ihren Tag-Nacht-Rhythmus dabei verkürzen müssen. Das fällt vielen deutlich schwerer, als ihn zu verlängern, wie es bei Reisen in Richtung Westen der Fall ist.

 

Durch Ernährung dem Jetlag entkommen

Ob Fernreisen oder schlichte Schichtarbeit: Der Kampf mit der Müdigkeit bringt den Menschen nicht nur im Kopf durcheinander. Das Mikrobiom leidet mit. Die Forscher um Christoph Thaiss vom Weizmann Institute of Science untersuchten zunächst bei Mäusen, ob sich die Zusammensetzung ihrer Darmflora innerhalb eines 24-Stunden-Rhythmus’ ändert. Und tatsächlich: Im Laufe eines Tages nahm die Häufigkeit verschiedener Arten von Bakterien immer wieder zu und ab. Anschließend zeigten die Wissenschaftler, dass auch die Darmflora des Menschen rhythmischen Schwankungen unterliegt – und dass ein Jetlag ebenfalls die Zusammensetzung der Bakterien verändert.[2]

Die richtige Ernährung kann einen Jetlag allerdings abmildern. Zum Beispiel sollte das Abendessen mit Zutaten angereichert werden, die die Insulinausschüttung fördern. Dadurch könnte sich die biologische Uhr etwas in Richtung Morgen zurückdrehen lassen. Für das Frühstück gilt dann das genaue Gegenteil.[3] Darüber hinaus stellte eine Harvard-Studie fest, dass auch Fasten helfen kann, schneller mit der neuen Ortszeit zurechtzukommen.[4]

Die Forschungsergebnisse weisen also darauf hin, dass unsere Ernährung unsere biologische Uhr beeinflussen kann.

  • Wer zwölf bis 16 Stunden vor der Ankunftszeit fastet und nur Wasser zu sich nimmt, setzt seine innere Uhr auf Null zurück – so fällt der Neustart vor Ort leichter.
  • Landet man vor 10 Uhr vormittags Ortszeit, sollte man möglichst bald ein leichtes, proteinreiches Frühstück zu sich nehmen. Landet man am Nachmittag, ist eine kohlehydratreiche Mahlzeit gegen 16 Uhr zu empfehlen. Weiter geht es dann erst mit dem Frühstück am nächsten Morgen gegen 8 Uhr.
  • Wer Kaffee als Wachmacher schätzt, kann dessen Wirksamkeit erhöhen, indem er vor der Reise ein paar Tage darauf verzichtet. Wenn man dann Kaffee als Muntermacher in kleinen Portionen zu sich nimmt, hält die anregende Wirkung länger an, anstatt bei einer Megadosis nach einem explosiven Hoch umso schneller wieder zu verpuffen.

Wie können wir diese Erkenntnisse bei der Entwicklung spezialisierter Lebensmittel nutzen, die uns dabei helfen, den Jetlag so schnell wie möglich zu überwinden?

 

 

[1] Miho Sato, The Role of the Endocrine System in Feeding-Induced Tissue-Specific Circadian Entrainment. Cell Reports, 2014

[2] Christoph A. Thaiss et al., Transkingdom Control of Microbiota Diurnal Oscillations Promotes Metabolic Homeostasis, Cell 159, 514–529, October 23, 2014

[3] Miho Sato, The Role of the Endocrine System in Feeding-Induced Tissue-Specific Circadian Entrainment. Cell Reports, 2014

[4] Patrick M. Fuller et al., Differential Rescue of Light- and Food-Entrainable Circadian Rhythms, Science, 23 May 2008

Unsere Lösung:

Wir arbeiten daran…

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies und unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu.