Moonshot _ 10

Healthy Snacking

Fixed meal times are becoming less and less important worldwide. People no longer sit down together at the table three times a day at fixed times. You eat when you are hungry – no matter when or where. Mobile snacking is the contemporary solution for people on the move: packaged in portions, easy to eat with one hand and with a healthy image – that’s how muesli bars, protein shakes and smoothies compete for market share. But the creativity of the developers has long since reached its limits: Because instead of exciting innovations, there is always more of the same. Boredom is spreading. Where are the new healthy product concepts that inspire us?

“Chocolate is really a problem. I’m trying to be healthy right now, so I’ll eat carob chips, which are kind of like chocolate. But sometimes I’ll have a midnight snack, and I’ll wake up, and I’ll find chocolate in my bed.”

Claire Holt

The snack: the forgotten calorie

The schedule is tight, there is no time to go out to eat and cooking for yourself is out of the question. That’s why we have a quick snack for the small hunger in between. “Snack” somehow sounds so nice and small, light and not at all like a real meal – and that’s exactly the problem. English researchers have found out that snacking people tend to eat too much. Their explanation: Apparently, snacks are quickly forgotten and do not play any role in the daily calorie balance.

In Germany, it has now even been clarified under tax law that a snack does not replace a full meal. For a long time, business travellers had to declare every snack to the tax office – even the mini-bag with 10 gummi bears that was served with the drink on scheduled flights. Meals per diems in the travel expense report were reduced accordingly.

After clear protests, the Federal Ministry of Finance corrected its view and made it clear in a letter: “It is not only important […] that the employer provides the employee with something to eat, but also whether it is one of the meals mentioned in the law. …] Even the small bags of crisps, savoury biscuits, chocolate wafers, muesli bars or comparable other snacks served on domestic German flights or short-haul flights, for example, do not fulfil the criteria for a meal and therefore do not lead to a reduction in the flat-rate payments.

 

Snack drinks: How healthy are smoothies?

Five portions of fruit and vegetables a day, is the common recommendation of nutrition experts. Not at all easy in our hectic everyday life. A smoothie – a pureed mix of fruits – seems to be just right: A small bottle can easily cover up to two portions of the daily ration, many manufacturers promise. Health “to go”, so to speak. Just the right thing for stressed office workers. But are smoothies really an equivalent substitute for fresh fruit?

 

Nutrients are lost

Unlike traditional fruit juices, smoothies contain the entire fruit except for the skin and seeds. Many nutrients, which in apples, for example, are located directly under the skin, are therefore not contained at all. Thus, important vitamins, fibre and minerals as well as secondary plant substances are lost in the first step. For the typical creamy consistency, the pureed fruit flesh is then usually mixed with juice. As a rule of thumb, the higher the juice content in the smoothie, the lower the content of dietary fibres and secondary plant substances.

 

Chewing is better than drinking

The liquid consistency itself is also a disadvantage: although smoothies are a small meal in terms of nutritional value and calories, we consume them like a drink. The satiation effect is thus significantly lower than with solid fruit, which first has to be chewed for a longer time and, due to its greater volume, fills the stomach better. Solid fruit therefore fills you up faster, better and longer than any smoothie with the same amount of calories. That’s why we should rather bite directly into an apple when we feel like eating fruit.

 

Health risk smoothie

Scientists of the renowned Boston “Harvard School of Public Health” have examined the effects of smoothies and fruit juices on health in a 24-year study with almost 190,000 participants. The result: The positive effects of the packaged fruit products are not only small, smoothies can even make you ill. People who eat fruit in liquid form increase their risk of developing diabetes mellitus. Grapes, apples, pears and blueberries, on the other hand, have a positive effect on the insulin balance – provided they are not drunk but eaten.

 

Is self-pressing the solution?

Packaged juices are therefore not as healthy as the food industry would have us believe. So is self-squeezing the solution? Nutrition experts take a critical view of this: if you squeeze your fruit yourself, you also destroy valuable minerals and vitamins that are under the skin. In the end, the glass is filled with water and a lot of fruit sugar, which quickly enters the bloodstream via the intestines and raises the blood sugar level. A good point of reference is the question of how much of the fruit you want to squeeze out you could eat. Because that would be the amount of fructose that our body can absorb.

 

Typology of the snack user

The market research institute infratest examined the German snack market and the motivations of its customers. First of all, it was filtered out that the majority of those surveyed regard a snack as a small quick snack between meals, and occasionally as a meal replacement. Whether sweet or savory, snacks are associated with characteristics such as easy and uncomplicated consumption or independence from time and space. The respondents prefer to snack in the afternoon and evening, and expect this to provide emotional added value. Among other things, it is about rewarding oneself, passing the time, staying in certain situations or even initiating contacts.

The snack market is extremely complex and clear segmentation has proved to be very difficult. The typical snacker does not exist. One and the same person will react differently to the same snack offer in different situations for various reasons. Nevertheless, market researchers have identified 6 basic patterns that can be clearly distinguished from each other.

  1. the ultimate kick
  • – Main motives: to recharge energy to be physically and mentally fit, to shape one’s career or generally to achieve personal goals
  • – Associated product experiences: crisp, with bite, fresh and fruity, rather strong
  • – Snacking occasions: honest appetite, immediate orientation, also replacement of a main meal
  • – Typical products: Salads, fruit bars, vitamin bars, dried fruit. Healthy products: balanced, but without sacrificing taste
  • – Corresponding worlds of experience: more outdoor-oriented, sports or professional performance sector
  1. fun, games, excitement
  • – Main motives: Fun and conviviality among friends, cheating the everyday life, enjoying light-hearted
  • – Product experiences: carefree jumbled eating without regard to calories, everything that is hearty and crispy, sweet or salty
  • – Snacking occasions: from “really hungry” to “just want to eat”
  • – Typical products: Gummy bears, chocolate bars, trail mix, everything you can share
  • – Experience worlds: leisure and fun-oriented. Values such as tolerance and camaraderie play a major role.
  1. feet up and switch off
  • – Main motives: escape from everyday life, take a break, reflect on yourself
  • – Product experiences: soft, more sucking than chewing, cute, really nice and sweet
  • – Snacking occasions: small moments of pampering to comfort or relax. Typical behaviour is the grip in the bag or drawer. Storage of the favourite snack plays a major role.
  • – Typical products: filled chocolates, biscuits, waffles, pudding
  • – worlds of experience: Cocooning, more indoor-oriented. Values such as trust and harmony are positive.
  1. empty stomach does not like to study
  • – Main motives: fast satiety, blocking hunger
  • – Snacking occasions: ravenous appetite, often meal replacement
  • – Product experiences: “hot and greasy”, something substantial, not choosy, the next best thing, the main thing is practical and fast, eat out of your hand
  • – Typical products: Bratwurst, hot dog, French fries with mayonnaise, more savory than sweet.
  • – Worlds of experience: rather sober, keeping your head up in everyday life, in harmony with yourself.
  1. everything under control
  • – Main motives: disciplined eating, supplying the body with only the bare essentials, renunciation, no gluttony
  • – Snacking occasions: clearly marked sections in a structured daily routine
  • – Product experience: light, airy, small pieces, clean, do not get your hands dirty
  • – Typical products: calorie-reduced delicatessen products, soups, rice crackers or soya products
  • – Worlds of experience: determined by the principles of clarity and planning, taking place more within one’s own four walls
  1. the little bit of extravagance
  • – Main motives: Spoiling and rewarding with demonstrative character, preferably in select company
  • – Snacking occasions: small parties, receptions, business meetings
  • – Product experiences: noble, fine, with knife and fork, nicely arranged, the eye eats with
  • – Typical products: delicacies, chocolates, in-products like lobster, crustaceans, sushi
  • – worlds of experience: characterised by the staging of one’s own wealth, style and quality

 

The snack of the future

After all the negative assessments of solid and liquid snacks, the question remains: Is it even possible to develop tasty snacks that not only satisfy the need for a satisfying snack, but also have a healthy nutrient profile?

One thing is certain: people will continue to snack in the future. And the demands are high: taste, convenience and healthy nutrition are the ingredients needed for the snack of the future. But can all three requirements be combined in one product?

Our solution:

work in progress…

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies und unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu.

Moonshot _ 10

Gesundes Snacken

Feste Essenszeiten werden weltweit immer unbedeutender. Man setzt sich nicht mehr dreimal täglich zu festen Zeiten gemeinsam an den Tisch. Man isst dann, wenn man hungrig ist – egal wann und egal wo. Mobiles Snacking ist die zeitgemäße Lösung für unterwegs: Portionsweise verpackt, leicht mit einer Hand zu essen und mit gesundem Image – so kämpfen Müsli-Riegel, Protein-Shakes und Smoothies um Marktanteile. Dabei ist die Kreativität der Entwickler aber schon längst an ihre Grenzen gestoßen: Denn statt spannender Innovationen gibt es immer mehr vom Gleichen. Langeweile macht sich breit. Wo sind die neuen gesunden Produktkonzepte, die uns begeistern?

„Schokolade ist wirklich ein Problem. Ich versuche gerade, gesund zu leben, daher esse ich Johannisbrotchips, die so eine Art Schokolade sind. Aber manchmal nehme ich einen Mitternachtssnack, wache auf und finde Schokolade in meinem Bett.“

Claire Holt

Der Snack: die vergessene Kalorie

Der Terminplan ist eng, zum Essengehen bleibt keine Zeit und ans Selberkochen ist gar nicht zu denken. Deshalb gibt’s gegen den kleinen Hunger einen schnellen Snack für zwischendurch. „Snack“ klingt irgendwie so schön klein, leicht und gar nicht nach einer richtigen Mahlzeit – und genau das ist das Problem. Englische Forscher haben herausgefunden, dass snackende Menschen eher dazu neigen, zu viel zu essen. Ihre Erklärung: Offenbar geraten Snacks schnell in Vergessenheit und spielen gedanklich bei der täglichen Kalorienbilanz keine Rolle.

In Deutschland wurde mittlerweile sogar steuerrechtlich geklärt, dass ein Snack keine vollwertige Mahlzeit ersetzt. Lange Zeit mussten Geschäftsreisende jeden Snack beim Finanzamt deklarieren – auch die Mini-Tüte mit 10 Gummibärchen, die im Linienflieger zum Getränk gereicht wurde. Verpflegungspauschalen in der Reisekostenabrechnung wurden entsprechend gekürzt.

Nach deutlichen Protesten korrigierte das Bundesfinanzministerium seine Ansicht und machte in einem Schreiben deutlich: „Es kommt […] nicht allein darauf an, dass dem Arbeitnehmer etwas Essbares vom Arbeitgeber zur Verfügung gestellt wird, sondern auch, ob es sich dabei um eine der im Gesetz genannten Mahlzeiten handelt. […] Auch die z. B. auf innerdeutschen Flügen oder Kurzstrecken-Flügen gereichten kleinen Tüten mit Chips, Salzgebäck, Schokowaffeln, Müsliriegel oder vergleichbare andere Knabbereien erfüllen nicht die Kriterien für eine Mahlzeit und führen somit zu keiner Kürzung der Pauschalen.“

 

Snack Drinks: Wie gesund sind Smoothies?

Fünf Portionen Obst und Gemüse täglich, lautet die gängige Empfehlung von Ernährungsexperten. Gar nicht so einfach in unserem hektischen Alltag. Da kommt ein Smoothie – also ein pürierter Mix aus Früchten – scheinbar wie gerufen: Mit einer kleinen Flasche lassen sich locker bis zu zwei Portionen der täglichen Ration abdecken, versprechen viele Hersteller. Gesundheit „to go“, sozusagen. Genau das Richtige für gestresste Büromenschen. Nur: Sind Smoothies tatsächlich ein gleichwertiger Ersatz für frisches Obst?

 

Nährstoffe gehen verloren

Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Fruchtsäften enthalten Smoothies die komplette Frucht mit Ausnahme der Schale und der Kerne. Viele Nährstoffe, die z. B. bei Äpfeln direkt unter der Schale sitzen, sind damit gar nicht enthalten. So gehen schon im ersten Schritt wichtige Vitamine, Ballast- und Mineralstoffe sowie sekundäre Pflanzenstoffe verloren. Für die typische sämige Konsistenz wird das pürierte Fruchtfleisch dann meist noch mit Saft gemischt. Als Faustregel gilt: Je höher der Saftanteil im Smoothie, desto geringer der Anteil an Ballaststoffen und sekundären Pflanzenstoffen.

 

Kauen ist besser als trinken

Auch die flüssige Konsistenz selbst ist eigentlich ein Nachteil: Obwohl Smoothies hinsichtlich Nährwert und Kalorien eher eine kleine Mahlzeit sind, nehmen wir sie wie ein Getränk zu uns. Der Sättigungseffekt ist damit deutlich geringer als bei festem Obst, das zunächst länger zerkaut werden muss und durch sein größeres Volumen den Magen besser ausfüllt. Festes Obst macht bei gleicher Kalorienmenge also schneller, besser und länger satt als jeder Smoothie. Deshalb sollten wir bei Lust auf Obst lieber direkt in einen Apfel beißen.

 

Gesundheitsrisiko Smoothie

Wissenschaftler der renommierten Bostoner “Harvard School of Public Health“ haben in einer 24 Jahre dauernden Studie mit knapp 190.000 Teilnehmern die Auswirkungen von Smoothies und Fruchtsäften auf die Gesundheit untersucht. Das Ergebnis: Die positiven Effekte der abgepackten Obstprodukte seien nicht nur gering, Smoothies könnten sogar krank machen. Wer Obst in flüssiger Form zu sich nehme, steigere sein Risiko, an Diabetes mellitus zu erkranken. Trauben, Äpfel, Birnen und Heidelbeeren hätten hingegen positive Auswirkungen auf den Insulinhaushalt – sofern sie nicht getrunken, sondern gegessen würden.

 

Ist Selbstpressen die Lösung?

Abgepackte Säfte sind also nicht so gesund, wie uns die Lebensmittelindustrie weißmachen will. Ist Selbstpressen also die Lösung? Ernährungsexperten sehen das kritisch: Denn wer sein Obst selbst auspresst, zerstört ebenfalls wertvolle Mineralstoffe und Vitamine, die unter der Schale stecken. Ins Glas kommen letztlich Wasser und eine Menge Fruchtzucker, der über den Darm schnell ins Blut gelangt und den Blutzuckerspiegel in die Höhe treibt. Einen guten Orientierungspunkt liefert die Frage, wie viel man von dem Obst, das man auspressen möchte, essen könnte. Denn das wäre die Menge an Fruktose, die unser Körper aufnehmen kann.

 

Typologie des Snack-Nutzers

Das Marktforschungsinstitut infratest hat den deutschen Snack-Markt und die Motivationen seiner Kunden untersucht. Zunächst wurde herausgefiltert, dass die Mehrheit der Befragten einen Snack als eine kleine schnelle Zwischenmahlzeit betrachtet, hin und wieder auch als Mahlzeiten-Ersatz. Egal ob süß oder herzhaft: Mit Snacks werden Eigenschaften wie einfacher und unkomplizierter Verzehr oder Unabhängigkeit von Raum und Zeit assoziiert. Die Befragten snacken bevorzugt nachmittags und abends und versprechen sich davon auch einen emotionalen Mehrwert. Es geht unter anderem darum, sich zu belohnen, sich die Zeit zu vertreiben, in bestimmten Situationen durchzuhalten oder auch Kontakte anzubahnen.

Der Snack-Markt ist äußerst komplex und eine klare Segmentation hat sich als sehr schwer herausgestellt. Den typischen Snacker gibt es nicht. Ein und dieselbe Person wird in verschiedenen Situationen aus diversen Gründen unterschiedlich auf das gleiche Snack-Angebot reagieren. Die Marktforscher haben dennoch 6 Grundmuster ausgemacht, die deutlich voneinander abgrenzbar sind.

 

  1. Der ultimative Kick
  • Hauptmotive: Energie tanken, um physisch und psychisch fit zu sein, um Karriere zu gestalten oder generell persönliche Ziele zu erreichen
  • Assoziierte Produkterlebnisse: knackig, mit Biss, frisch und fruchtig, eher kräftig
  • Snacking-Anlässe: ehrlicher Appetit, Sofort-Orientierung, auch Ersatz einer Hauptmahlzeit
  • Typische Produkte: Salate, Fruchtschnitte, Vitaminriegel, Trockenobst. Gesunde Produkte: ausgewogen, aber ohne Geschmacksverzicht
  • Korrespondierende Erlebniswelten: eher outdoor-orientiert, sportlicher oder beruflicher Leistungssektor
  1. Spaß, Spiel, Spannung
  • Hauptmotive: Fun und Geselligkeit unter Freunden, dem Alltag ein Schnippchen schlagen, unbeschwert genießen
  • Produkterlebnisse: sorgloses Durcheinander-Essen ohne Rücksicht auf Kalorien, alles was kernig und knusprig ist, süß oder salzig
  • Snacking-Anlässe: von „richtig Kohldampf“ bis „einfach Lust drauf haben“
  • Typische Produkte: Gummibärchen, Schoko-Riegel, Studentenfutter, alles was man teilen kann
  • Erlebniswelten: freizeit- und spaß-orientiert. Werte wie Toleranz und Kameradschaft spielen eine große Rolle.
  1. Füße hoch und abschalten
  • Hauptmotive: dem Alltag entfliehen, eine Auszeit nehmen, sich auf sich selbst besinnen
  • Produkterlebnisse: weich, eher lutschen als kauen, schnuckelig, richtig schön süß
  • Snacking-Anlässe: kleine Verwöhn-Momente zum Trost oder zur Entspannung. Typisches Verhalten ist der Griff in die Tasche oder Schublade. Vorratshaltung des Lieblingssnacks spielt eine große Rolle.
  • Typische Produkte: gefüllte Schokoladen, Kekse, Waffeln, Pudding
  • Erlebniswelten: Cocooning, eher indoor-orientiert. Werte wie Vertrauen und Harmonie sind positiv besetzt.
  1. Leerer Bauch studiert nicht gern
  • Hauptmotive: schnelle Sättigung, Hungergefühl abblocken
  • Snacking-Anlässe: Heißhunger, häufig Mahlzeiten-Ersatz
  • Produkterlebnisse: „heiß und fettig“, was Substantielles, nicht wählerisch, das Nächstbeste, Hauptsache praktisch und schnell, aus der Hand essen
  • Typische Produkte: Bratwurst, Hot Dog, Pommes Frites mit Mayonnaise, eher herzhaft als süß.
  • Erlebniswelten: eher nüchtern, im Alltag den Kopf oben behalten, im Einklang mit sich selbst.
  1. Alles unter Kontrolle
  • Hauptmotive: diszipliniertes Essen, dem Körper nur das Notwendigste zuführen, Verzicht, nur keine Völlerei
  • Snacking-Anlässe: klar markierte Abschnitte in einem strukturierten Tagesablauf
  • Produkterlebnisse: leicht, luftig, kleine Stückchen, sauber, sich nicht die Hände schmutzig machen
  • Typische Produkte: kalorienreduzierte Feinkostprodukte, Suppen, Reiscracker oder Sojaprodukte
  • Erlebniswelten: bestimmt von den Prinzipien Übersichtlichkeit und Planbarkeit, spielen sich eher in den eigenen vier Wänden ab
  1. Das Stückchen Extravaganz
  • Hauptmotive: Verwöhnen und Belohnen mit demonstrativem Charakter, gerne in ausgesuchter Gesellschaft
  • Snacking-Anlässe: kleine Feten, Empfänge, Geschäftstreffen
  • Produkterlebnisse: edel, fein, mit Messer und Gabel, nett angerichtet, das Auge isst mit
  • Typische Produkte: Delikatessen, Pralinen, In-Produkte wie Hummer, Krustentiere, Sushi
  • Erlebniswelten: geprägt von der Inszenierung des eigenen Wohlstands, Stil und Qualität

 

Der Snack der Zukunft

Nach all den negativen Einschätzungen über feste und flüssige Snacks bleibt die Frage: Ist es überhaupt möglich, leckere Snacks zu entwickeln, die nicht nur das Bedürfnis nach einer sättigenden Zwischenmahlzeit erfüllen, sondern auch über ein gesundes Nährstoffprofil verfügen?

Eins steht jedenfalls fest: Die Menschen werden auch in Zukunft weiter snacken. Dabei sind die Ansprüche hoch: Geschmack, Convenience und gesunde Ernährung sind die Zutaten, die man für den Snack der Zukunft benötigt. Aber lassen sich alle drei Ansprüche in einem Produkt vereinen?

Unsere Lösung:

Wir arbeiten daran…

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies und unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu.