Moonshot _ 02

chronic diseases

General nutritional recommendations are increasingly being criticised. New scientific findings show more and more clearly that uniform concepts with regard to human nutrition are an aberration. Because the metabolism of every human being is as individual as his genome or microbiome. Nutritionists and leading organisations now agree that the crucial question should no longer be “How should I eat?” but “How should I eat?

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.”
Hippocrates, 460 – 370 BC

USA: nutritionists sound the alarm

A press release on 25 November 2019 hit the nutritional science community like a bomb: five renowned American nutrition organisations[1] had joined forces to form the American Nutrition Association (ANA). This new professional association wants to intensively deal with the science and practice of personalised nutrition in order to finally make progress in the fight against chronic diseases. According to the ANA, the merger is necessary in order to speak with a strong voice. For too long, nutritionists have resigned themselves to the idea that the state-promoted uniform nutrition pyramid is the ideal basis for people’s health.

 

Poor nutrition as a cause of chronic diseases

The new nonprofit professional association notes that more than half of Americans suffer from chronic conditions. One of the main causes: poor nutrition. In contrast to the outdated food pyramid, the new concept of Personalized Nutrition focuses on the individual prerequisites and needs of each person. This enables the development of tailor-made nutrition strategies that not only prevent and treat diseases, but also improve the general state of health.

Michael Stroka, CEO of ANA, sees a “huge nutritional gap”: “In relation to its potential as a health factor, nutrition plays far too small a role in our culture as well as in our health system. This is partly due to the fact that a large proportion of medical staff do not have the necessary expertise. As a professional association, the ANA aims to counteract the dramatic increase in chronic diseases by providing medical professionals with scientific and practical knowledge about the concept of personalized nutrition.

 

Personal responsibility beats genetics

ANA CEO Dr. Jeffrey Blumberg added: “We now have extensive scientific evidence that underscores the fact that nutrition is a critical and influenceable factor in our health. While only a small proportion of the risk of chronic disease is genetic, the vast majority is due to everyday actions that we can influence ourselves. The use of personalized nutrition has the potential to achieve fundamentally positive effects”.

 

Science instead of ideology

Corinne Bush, ANA board member, commented: “As a coalition of forward-thinking nutritionists, health professionals and thought leaders, we recognize that we need a comprehensive solution that addresses all the causes of the “nutrition gap. For this reason, our associations have made the historic decision to unite to speak with one voice in the future. In doing so, we have created a strong platform – for training and certification, as a lobby and network, and to work together to promote the concept of Personalised Nutrition. What I personally find particularly exciting is that our approach is not based on any ideology, but is deeply rooted in science. Science shows us the right way.”

Largely unnoticed by the media in Europe, a revolution is on the way in America, which wants to put an end to outdated dogmas in nutrition. But also in Europe the supposedly eternal nutritional truths are slowly coming under pressure.

 

What is the right nutrition – for me?

What is the healthier breakfast: white bread with chocolate cream or muesli? Most people would probably spontaneously choose muesli. But it’s not that simple. “The body’s reaction to food is a very individual matter,” says Professor Christian Sina from the Institute of Nutritional Medicine at the University of Lübeck. He researches how the human organism reacts to certain foods and is convinced that “the future of nutrition lies in personalization”. The decisive question is no longer “What is the right diet for people”, but “What is the right diet for me?

 

EFSA’s role backwards

Professor John C. Mathers, published an article in the official EFSA Journal on 29 May 2019 with the significant title “Paving the way to better public health through personalised nutrition”. The article summarised a presentation Mathers had given at an EFSA conference: “As each individual is different from the others in many ways, it is a compelling notion that our individual nutritional needs are also different. The results of nutrition intervention studies show that there are significant inter-individual differences in the same diet. (…) Research in the field of personalised nutrition is expanding its scope to include both the effects mediated by the intestinal microbiome and the many aspects of genotype and phenotype. Such research has the potential to explain inter-individual differences in response to certain nutritional factors and may provide a scientific basis for refined approaches to Personalised Diet”[2].

 

Foods are not per se healthy of unhealthy

Even the major nutrition societies are moving more and more in the direction of personalised nutrition in their formulations: “Although almost all essential questions in nutrition research are unclear, the decisive scientific consensus has been in place since summer 2019 – and this is the “ecotrophological key question” par excellence: Are there healthy and unhealthy foods? No! The seven major nutritional scientific D-A-CH institutions unanimously hold the same opinion in this respect – and so the consensus of DGE (D), SGE (CH), ÖGE (A), DIfE (D), BZfE (D) as well as VDOE (D) and VEÖ (A) is clearly unanimous: This rigid categorisation is neither up-to-date nor scientifically tenable, in short: “We do not need a classification of healthy or unhealthy food“[3].  This statement sensational in its clarity and openness is a long overdue break with outdated dogmas of the nourishing science and a death blow for so make nourish-scientific study and their incorrect interpretation.

 

The problems of nutrition science

Despite decades of dietary fashions and state-funded food pyramids, we know surprisingly little about the science of nutrition. One reason is that it is difficult to conduct high-quality randomized studies. This is because the test persons must adhere strictly to a special diet, sometimes for years, before significant health effects can be seriously assessed.

But even if it is possible for people to follow a given diet for years or even decades, the scientific evaluation and interpretation of the data is anything but trivial. For example, one of the world’s largest nutrition studies came to the conclusion that a “Mediterranean diet” reduces the risk of heart attacks and strokes. After fierce criticism, the study had to be withdrawn and republished with muted conclusions.

 

The mistaken belief that all people are equal

Most nutrition studies are backward observations based on the shaky memories of the participants. Many such studies involving hundreds of thousands of subjects wanted to find out what effects the consumption of carbohydrates or fibre, salt or artificial sweeteners has. The results are spurious: A correlation between diet and health is possible and probable, but a concrete cause-and-effect relationship cannot be proven.

No surprise. Because it is a widespread misconception in nutritional science that we humans are all equal. So it is also a misconception that a low-salt diet would be fundamentally healthier. Figure 1 shows the effect of a low-salt diet on the blood pressure of 82 healthy men:

Although blood pressure falls in one third of men, it does not change in another third and even rises in the last third. Perhaps the simple rule of moderate salt consumption is not so simple after all. In individual cases, the nutritional science demand for a salt-restricted diet could even be harmful.

Fig. 1: Change in blood pressure of healthy adults who have been on a low-salt diet[4]
Comparable results can be seen in almost every intervention study: Some patients react very strongly to a drug (high responder), others do not react at all (non-responder) and some even react in the opposite direction (negative responder). We, however, want simple truths and for this we fall into black and white thinking. We fade out the colourful and complex reality. Günther Jonitz, President of the Berlin Medical Association, said at a congress in 2018: “In the 19th century clean water was the most important resource for health, in the 21st century it is clean knowledge.

 

The problem of average values

Average values have one major weakness: they say nothing about the individual case. For a non-swimmer, for example, wading through a river with an average water depth of one meter is life-threatening. Doesn’t that mean anything other than that the water is perhaps only half a metre deep at one point, but a little further it is 3.50 metres.

In terms of nutritional science, this means that for the perfect average person, general nutritional recommendations are certainly good. But who is? It is possible that different nutrition studies come to so many contradictory results because the test persons are not average, but individuals who are different from each other.

Fig. 2: Why nutritionists should not rely on average values.

 

The solution: Personalised food

It is therefore a naive error of thought to believe in a universally optimal diet for all people. This assumption is neither biologically nor physiologically plausible. It contradicts the remarkable heterogeneity of human metabolism, the microbiome and the environment – to name but a few of the dimensions that make each of us unique. Good nutrition must therefore be just as individual as each of us.

 

The demand on science is clear: since time immemorial, people have been preached what is bad and wrong in terms of nutrition. Now it is finally time to talk about what is right. This is explicitly not about inventing new functional special foods. Personalised nutrition has the sole aim of providing people with the right food at the right time.

 

Segal and Elinav: a pioneering study

The first major gain in knowledge in the field of personalised nutrition took place a few years ago: Professors Eran Segal and Eran Elinav from the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel published a groundbreaking article in the journal “Cell” entitled “Personalized nutrition by predicting the glycemic response”. They examined the individual blood sugar peaks that occur after the consumption of food and are considered an indicator of diabetes risk and metabolic syndrome.

The Israeli study included 800 healthy people. The participants ate almost 47,000 meals of their usual food intake as well as more than 5,000 meals compiled by the researchers, including chocolate and ice cream. The time of eating, the amount and content of food and beverages, as well as physical activity, height, weight and sleeping times of the participants were documented.

In addition, blood and intestinal microbiom were analyzed and the blood sugar level was monitored for one week. A total of more than 1.5 million glucose measurements were performed. With the help of this huge data set, the researchers wanted to find out exactly what drives the glucose reaction of each individual person to certain foods. They used artificial intelligence (AI) to develop an algorithm for the individual blood sugar response from the collected data.

It turned out that over one hundred factors are involved in the glycemic response and that the participants reacted differently to the consumption of the same foods. Surprisingly, it was not the diet that had the greatest influence, but the intestinal microbiome. Nevertheless, the increase in blood sugar can be significantly reduced by choosing the right food. Which foods have this effect, however, is different for each person.

 

Requirements for personalised nutrition

Personalised nutrition has the potential to trigger a whole new public health debate. In order to fulfil this role, the novel concept has to reach people’s everyday lives. People must change their lifelong learned behavior and not only question their automated decision-making processes regarding their own nutrition, but also break them down and realign them. In order for the concept of personalized nutrition to become established in the long term, people must feel the most concrete benefits possible and find an emotional approach.

 

Trend towards self-optimization

A potential driver of this development is the current megatrend towards self-optimization. Young people in particular like to check themselves and their bodily functions frequently and with pleasure. Every second European between 18 and 39 years counts steps and calories, measures blood pressure or heart rate with apps, Smartwatch or fitness bracelets. In the past, illness was fate, but today for many it is the self-inflicted consequence of an unhealthy lifestyle. Overweight? High blood pressure? Diabetes? More and more people think it’s their own fault. The food sector and the digital world are colliding. Disruption takes place at the interface of food, health & wellness and technology.

Meanwhile, new scientific findings are also overtaking the current reformulation strategy of politics and the food industry – a national strategy for reducing sugar, fat and salt in finished products. It has long been time to think beyond quotas for sugar and sodium and move from blanket bans and restrictions to a positive diet. Generalisations like “eat more fruit and vegetables” will no longer be enough tomorrow. The next stage of self-optimization is about concrete and functional benefits for each individual.

 

Nutrition of the future

How personal must and can the nutrition of the future be? At present, the food industry is focusing on segmentation and on developing products for specific groups with similar needs, such as senior citizens and infants or protein-rich power foods.

 

For proponents of personalised nutrition, the answer lies in technological developments that meet the increased expectations of future consumers. There is no question that the age of personalised nutrition has begun and it will change the food industry dramatically in the coming decades.

[1] American College of Nutrition, Board for Certification of Nutrition Specialists, Center for Nutrition Advocacy, Accreditation Council for Nutrition Professional Education, American Nutrition Association Foundation

[2] https://efsa.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/pdf/10.2903/j.efsa.2019.e170713

[3] https://www.yumda.de/news/1164261/es-gibt-weder-gesunde-noch-ungesunde-lebensmittel.html

[4] Miller JZ, et al., Heterogeneity of blood pressure response to dietary sodium restriction in normotensive adults., J Chronic Dis. 1987;40(3):245-50

Our solution:

work in progress…

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies und unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu.

Moonshot _ 02

Chronische Krankheiten

Generelle Ernährungsempfehlungen stehen zunehmend in der Kritik. Neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse zeigen immer deutlicher, dass Einheitskonzepte in Bezug auf die menschliche Ernährung ein Irrweg sind. Denn der Stoffwechsel jedes Menschen ist so individuell wie sein Genom oder Mikrobiom. Ernährungswissenschaftler und führende Organisationen stimmen mittlerweile darin überein, dass die entscheidende Frage nicht länger lauten sollte „Wie sollte man sich ernähren?“, sondern „Wie sollte ich mich ernähren?“.

„Eure Nahrung sei eure Medizin, und eure Medizin eure Nahrung.“

Hippokrates

USA: Ernährungswissenschaftler schlagen Alarm

Eine Pressemeldung vom 25. November 2019 schlug in der ernährungswissenschaftlichen Fachwelt ein wie eine Bombe: Fünf renommierte amerikanische Ernährungsorganisationen[1] hatten sich zur American Nutrition Association (ANA) zusammengeschlossen. Diese neue Fachvereinigung will sich intensiv mit Wissenschaft und Praxis der Personalisierten Ernährung beschäftigen, um endlich Fortschritte bei der Bekämpfung chronischer Krankheiten zu erzielen. Der Zusammenschluss sei notwendig, so die ANA, um mit starker Stimme zu sprechen. Zu lange haben sich Ernährungswissenschaftler damit abgefunden, dass die staatlich propagierte Einheits-Ernährungspyramide die ideale Basis für die Gesundheit der Menschen sein soll.

 

Schlechte Ernährung als Ursache chronischer Krankheiten

Der neue gemeinnützige Fachverband stellt fest, dass mehr als die Hälfte der Amerikaner an chronischen Erkrankungen leiden. Eine der wichtigsten Ursachen: schlechte Ernährung. Im Gegensatz zur veralteten Ernährungspyramide konzentriert sich das neue Konzept der Personalisierten Ernährung auf die individuellen Voraussetzungen und Bedürfnisse jedes Einzelnen. So können maßgeschneiderte Ernährungsstrategien entwickelt werden, die nicht nur Erkrankungen verhindern und therapieren, sondern auch den allgemeinen Gesundheitszustand verbessern.

Michael Stroka, Geschäftsführer der ANA, sieht eine „riesige Ernährungslücke“: „Im Verhältnis zu ihrem Potenzial als Gesundheitsfaktor spielt die Ernährung sowohl in unserer Kultur als auch in unserem Gesundheitssystem eine viel zu kleine Rolle. Das liegt unter anderem daran, dass ein Großteil des medizinischen Personals nicht über das entsprechende Fachwissen verfügt. Als Berufsverband will die ANA der dramatischen Zunahme chronischer Erkrankungen etwas entgegensetzen, indem sie medizinischen Fachkräften wissenschaftliches und praktisches Wissen rund um das Konzept der Personalisierten Ernährung zur Verfügung stellt.“

 

Eigenverantwortung schlägt Genetik

Der ANA-Vorstandsvorsitzende Dr. Jeffrey Blumberg fügte hinzu: „Wir verfügen jetzt über umfangreiche wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse, die unterstreichen, dass die Ernährung ein entscheidender und beeinflussbarer Faktor für unsere Gesundheit ist. Während das Risiko chronischer Erkrankungen nur zu einem geringen Anteil genetisch bedingt ist, ist der überwiegende Teil auf alltägliche Handlungen zurückzuführen, die wir selbst beeinflussen können. Der Einsatz Personalisierter Ernährung hat das Potenzial, um grundlegend positive Effekte zu erzielen.“

 

Wissenschaft statt Ideologie

Corinne Bush, Vorstandsmitglied der ANA, kommentierte: „Als Zusammenschluss zukunftsorientierter Ernährungswissenschaftler, Gesundheitsexperten und Vordenker haben wir erkannt, dass wir eine umfassende Lösung brauchen, die an sämtlichen Ursachen der „Ernährungslücke“ ansetzt. Aus diesem Grund haben unsere Verbände die historische Entscheidung getroffen, sich zu vereinen, um in Zukunft mit einer Stimme zu sprechen. Damit haben wir eine starke Plattform geschaffen – für Ausbildung und Zertifizierung, als Interessenvertretung und Netzwerk und um gemeinsam für das Konzept der Personalisierten Ernährung einzutreten. Was mich persönlich besonders begeistert: Unser Vorgehen orientiert sich nicht an irgendeiner Ideologie, sondern wir sind tief in der Wissenschaft verwurzelt. Die Wissenschaft weist uns den richtigen Weg.“

Weitgehend unbemerkt von den Medien in Europa bahnt sich also in Amerika eine Revolution an, die Schluss machen will mit überholten Glaubenssätzen in der Ernährung. Doch auch in Europa geraten die vermeintlich ewigen Ernährungs-Wahrheiten langsam unter Druck.

 

Was ist die richtige Ernährung – für mich?

Was ist das gesündere Frühstück: Weißbrot mit Schokocreme oder Müsli? Die meisten Menschen würden wohl spontan auf Müsli tippen. Doch so einfach ist es nicht. „Die Reaktion des Körpers auf Lebensmittel ist eine sehr individuelle Angelegenheit“, sagt Professor Christian Sina vom Institut für Ernährungsmedizin der Universität Lübeck. Er erforscht, wie der menschliche Organismus auf bestimmte Nahrungsmittel reagiert und ist überzeugt, dass „die Zukunft der Ernährung in der Personalisierung liegt“. Die entscheidende Frage lautet nicht länger: „Was ist die richtige Ernährung für den Menschen?“, sondern „Was ist die richtige Ernährung für mich?“.

 

Rolle rückwärts der EFSA

Professor John C. Mathers, veröffentlichte am 29. Mai 2019 im offiziellen EFSA Journal einen Artikel mit dem bezeichnenden Titel “Den Weg zu einer besseren Gesundheit der Bevölkerung durch personalisierte Ernährung ebnen“. Der Artikel fasste einen Vortrag zusammen, den Mathers auf einer EFSA-Konferenz gehalten hatte: „Da sich jeder einzelne Mensch in mehrfacher Hinsicht von den anderen unterscheidet, ist es ein überzeugender Gedanke, dass sich auch unsere individuellen Ernährungsbedürfnisse unterscheiden. Die Ergebnisse von Ernährungsinterventionsstudien belegen, dass es bei gleicher Ernährung erhebliche interindividuelle Unterschiede gibt. (…) Die Forschung im Bereich der Personalisierten Ernährung erweitert ihren Wirkungsbereich, um sowohl die durch das Darmmikrobiom vermittelten Effekte als auch die vielfältigen Aspekte des Genotyps und Phänotyps zu berücksichtigen. Solche Forschungen haben das Potenzial, interindividuelle Unterschiede in der Reaktion auf bestimmte Ernährungsfaktoren zu erklären und können eine wissenschaftliche Grundlage für verfeinerte Ansätze zur Personalisierten Ernährung liefern“.[2]

 

Lebensmittel sind nicht per se gesund der ungesund

Selbst die großen Ernährungs-Fachgesellschaften rücken in ihren Formulierungen immer mehr in Richtung Personalisierter Ernährung: „Obgleich in der Ernährungsforschung bei fast allen essenziellen Fragen Unklarheit herrscht, so liegt seit Sommer 2019 doch der entscheidende wissenschaftliche Konsens vor – und zwar bei der „ökotrophologischen Gretchenfrage“ schlechthin: Gibt es gesunde und ungesunde Lebensmittel? Nein! Die sieben großen ernährungswissenschaftlichen D-A-CH-Institutionen vertreten diesbezüglich unisono die gleiche Meinung – und so ist der Konsens von DGE (D), SGE (CH), ÖGE (A), DIfE (D), BZfE (D) sowie VDOE (D) und VEÖ (A) eindeutig einstimmig: Diese starre Kategorisierung ist weder zeitgemäß noch wissenschaftlich haltbar, kurzum: „Wir brauchen keine Einteilung in gesunde oder ungesunde Lebensmittel.“[3] Diese in ihrer Klarheit und Offenheit sensationelle Stellungnahme ist ein längst überfälliger Bruch mit überholten Glaubenssätzen der Ernährungswissenschaft und ein Todesstoß für so mache ernährungswissenschaftliche Studie und deren fehlerhafte Interpretation.

 

Die Probleme der Ernährungswissenschaft

Trotz jahrzehntelanger Diät-Moden und staatlich finanzierter Lebensmittelpyramiden wissen wir überraschend wenig über die Wissenschaft der Ernährung. Eine Ursache: Die Durchführung qualitativ hochwertiger randomisierter Studien ist schwierig. Denn dabei müssen sich die Probanden zum Teil über Jahre strikt an eine spezielle Diät halten, bevor signifikante gesundheitliche Auswirkungen überhaupt seriös bewertet werden können.

Aber selbst wenn es gelingt, dass Menschen eine vorgegebene Ernährungsweise über Jahre oder sogar Jahrzehnte einhalten, so ist die wissenschaftliche Auswertung und Interpretation der Daten alles andere als trivial. Eine der weltweit größten Ernährungsstudien kam zum Beispiel zu dem Ergebnis, dass eine „mediterrane Ernährung“ das Risiko für Herzinfarkte und Schlaganfälle senkt. Nach heftiger Kritik musste die Studie zurückgezogen und mit gedämpften Schlussfolgerungen neu veröffentlicht werden.

 

Der Irrglaube: Alle Menschen sind gleich

Die meisten Ernährungsstudien sind zeitlich rückwärtsgewandte Beobachtungen, die sich auf die wackeligen Erinnerungen der Teilnehmer stützen. Zahlreiche solcher Studien mit hunderttausenden von Probanden wollten auf diesem Weg herausfinden, welche Auswirkungen der Verzehr von Kohlenhydraten oder Ballaststoffen, Salz oder künstlichen Süßstoffen hat. Die Ergebnisse sind schwammig: Eine Korrelation zwischen Ernährung und der Gesundheit ist möglich und wahrscheinlich, aber ein konkreter Ursache- und Wirkungszusammenhang kann nicht belegt werden.

Keine Überraschung. Denn es ist eine in der Ernährungswissenschaft weitverbreitete Fehlannahme, dass wir Menschen alle gleich sind. So ist es auch ein Irrglaube, dass eine salzarme Ernährung grundsätzlich gesünder wäre. In Abbildung 1 wird die Auswirkung einer salzarmen Ernährung auf den Blutdruck von 82 gesunden Männern gezeigt:

Zwar sinkt der Blutdruck bei einem Drittel der Männer, aber bei einem weiteren Drittel verändert er sich nicht und beim letzten Drittel steigt er sogar. Vielleicht ist die simple Regel vom mäßigen Salzkonsum ja doch nicht ganz so simpel. In Einzelfällen könnte die ernährungswissenschaftliche Forderung nach einer salzrestriktiven Ernährung sogar schädlich sein.

Abb. 1: Veränderung des Blutdrucks von gesunden Erwachsenen, welche auf eine salzarme Diät gesetzt wurden [4]
Vergleichbare Ergebnisse zeigen sich bei fast jeder Interventionsstudie: Einige Patienten reagieren sehr stark auf ein Medikament (High-Responder), andere reagieren gar nicht (Non-Responder) und wieder andere reagieren sogar entgegengesetzt (Negative-Responder). Wir aber wollen einfache Wahrheiten und verfallen dafür in ein Schwarz-Weiß-Denken. Die bunte und vielschichtige Realität blenden wir aus. Günther Jonitz, Präsident der Berliner Ärztekammer, sagte auf einem Kongress im Jahre 2018: „Im 19. Jahrhun­dert war sauberes Wasser die wichtigste Ressource für Ge­sundheit, im 21. Jahrhundert ist es sauberes Wissen.“

 

Das Problem der Durchschnittswerte

Durchschnittswerte haben einen großen Schwachpunkt: Sie sagen nichts über den Einzelfall aus. Für einen Nichtschwimmer ist es zum Beispiel lebensgefährlich, durch einen Fluss mit einer durchschnittlichen Wassertiefe von einem Meter zu waten. Heißt das doch nichts anderes, als dass das Gewässer an der einen Stelle vielleicht nur einen halben Meter tief ist, etwas weiter aber 3,50 Meter.

Übertragen auf die Ernährungswissenschaft bedeutet das: Für den perfekten Durchschnittsmenschen sind allgemeine Ernährungsempfehlungen sicher gut. Aber wer ist das schon? Möglicherweise kommen unterschiedliche Ernährungsstudien deshalb zu so vielen widersprüchlichen Ergebnissen, weil die Probanden eben nicht durchschnittlich sind, sondern Individuen, die sich voneinander unterscheiden.

Abb. 2: Warum sich Ernährungswissenschaftler nicht auf Durchschnittswerte verlassen sollte.

 

Die Lösung: Personalisierte Lebensmittel

Es ist also ein naiver Denkfehler, an eine universell optimale Ernährung für alle Menschen zu glauben. Diese Annahme ist weder biologisch noch physiologisch plausibel. Sie widerspricht der bemerkenswerten Heterogenität des menschlichen Stoffwechsels, des Mikrobioms und der Umwelt – um nur einige der Dimensionen zu nennen, die jeden von uns einzigartig machen. Eine gute Ernährung muss also genau so individuell sein wie jeder Einzelne von uns.

Die Forderung an die Wissenschaft ist eindeutig: Seit ewigen Zeiten wurde den Menschen gepredigt, was in Sachen Ernährung schlecht und falsch sei. Jetzt ist es endlich an der Zeit, darüber zu sprechen, was das Richtige ist. Dabei geht es ausdrücklich nicht darum, neue funktionelle Speziallebensmittel zu erfinden. Personalisierte Ernährung hat einzig und allein das Ziel, den Menschen das für sie richtige Essen zur richtigen Zeit zur Verfügung zu stellen.

 

Segal und Elinav: eine wegweisende Studie

Der erste große Erkenntnisgewinn auf dem Gebiet der Personalisierten Ernährung fand vor einigen Jahren statt: Die Professoren Eran Segal und Eran Elinav vom Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel veröffentlichten in der Fachzeitschrift „Cell“ einen wegweisenden Artikel mit dem Titel „Personalisierte Ernährung durch Vorhersage der glykämischen Reaktion“. Sie hatten dazu die individuellen Blutzuckerspitzen untersucht, die nach dem Verzehr von Nahrungsmitteln auftreten und die als ein Indikator für das Diabetes-Risiko und das Metabolische Syndrom gelten.

Die israelische Studie umfasste 800 gesunde Personen. Die Teilnehmer aßen neben knapp 47.000 Mahlzeiten ihrer üblichen Nahrungsaufnahme auch mehr als 5.000 von den Forschern zusammengestellte Mahlzeiten, die unter anderem Schokolade und Eiscreme enthielten. Dokumentiert wurde jeweils der Zeitpunkt der Nahrungsaufnahme, Menge und Inhalt der Lebensmittel und Getränke sowie körperliche Aktivität, Größe, Gewicht und Schlafzeiten der Teilnehmer.

Darüber hinaus wurden Blut und Darmmikrobiom analysiert und der Blutzuckerverlauf eine Woche lang überwacht. Dabei wurden insgesamt über 1,5 Millionen Glukosemessungen durchgeführt. Mit Hilfe dieses riesigen Datensatzes wollten die Forscher herausfinden, was genau die Glukosereaktion jedes einzelnen Menschen auf bestimmte Lebensmittel antreibt. Sie setzten künstliche Intelligenz (KI) ein, um aus den gesammelten Daten einen Algorithmus für die individuelle Blutzuckerantwort zu entwickeln.

Es stellte sich heraus, dass über einhundert Faktoren an der glykämischen Reaktion beteiligt sind und dass die Teilnehmer auf den Verzehr der gleichen Lebensmittel unterschiedlich reagierten. Erstaunlicherweise hatte dabei aber nicht die Ernährung den größten Einfluss, sondern das Darmmikrobiom. Dennoch kann der Blutzuckeranstieg durch die Auswahl der richtigen Speisen deutlich reduziert werden. Welche Lebensmittel diesen Effekt haben, ist allerdings bei jedem Menschen unterschiedlich.

 

Anforderung an Personalisierte Ernährung

Die Personalisierte Ernährung hat das Potenzial, eine völlig neue Debatte über die öffentliche Gesundheit anzustoßen. Um dieser Rolle gerecht zu werden, muss das neuartige Konzept im Lebensalltag der Menschen ankommen. Die Menschen müssen ihr lebenslang gelerntes Verhalten verändern und ihre automatisierten Entscheidungsprozesse rund um die eigene Ernährung nicht nur hinterfragen, sondern aufbrechen und neu ausrichten. Damit sich das Konzept der Personalisierten Ernährung nachhaltig durchsetzen kann, müssen die Menschen möglichst konkrete Vorteile spüren und einen emotionalen Zugang finden.

 

Trend zur Selbstoptimierung

Ein potenzieller Treiber dieser Entwicklung ist der aktuelle Megatrend zur Selbstoptimierung. Vor allem junge Menschen überprüfen sich und ihre Körperfunktionen gern und häufig. Jeder zweite Europäer zwischen 18 und 39 Jahren zählt Schritte und Kalorien, misst Blutdruck oder Herzfrequenz mit Apps, Smartwatch oder Fitnessarmband. Früher war Krankheit Schicksal, heute ist sie für viele die selbstverschuldete Konsequenz eines ungesunden Lebensstils. Übergewicht? Bluthochdruck? Diabetes? Selbst schuld, denken immer mehr Menschen. Der Ernährungsbereich und die digitale Welt kollidieren. Disruption findet statt an der Schnittstelle von Essen, Gesundheit & Wellness und Technologie.

Währenddessen überholen die neuen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse auch die aktuelle Reformulierungsstrategie von Politik und Lebensmittelindustrie – eine nationale Strategie zur Reduktion von Zucker, Fetten und Salz in Fertigprodukten. Längst ist es an der Zeit, über Quoten für Zucker und Natrium hinaus zu denken und von pauschalen Verboten und Begrenzungen zu einer positiven Ernährung überzugehen. Allgemeinplätze wie „Esst mehr Obst und Gemüse“ werden morgen nicht mehr ausreichen. In der nächsten Stufe der Selbstoptimierung geht es um konkrete und funktionale Vorteile für jeden Einzelnen.

 

Ernährung der Zukunft

Wie persönlich muss und kann die Ernährung der Zukunft sein? Derzeit setzt die Ernährungsindustrie auf Segmentierung und auf die Entwicklung von Produkten für bestimmte Gruppen mit ähnlichen Bedürfnissen, wie Senioren- und Säuglingsnahrung oder proteinreiche Kraftnahrung.

Für Befürworter einer Personalisierten Ernährung liegt die Antwort in technologischen Entwicklungen, die den gestiegenen Erwartungen der Konsumenten der Zukunft gerecht werden. Keine Frage: Das Zeitalter der Personalisierten Ernährung hat begonnen und es wird die Lebensmittelindustrie in den nächsten Jahrzehnten gravierend verändern.

 

 

[1] American College of Nutrition, Board for Certification of Nutrition Specialists, Center for Nutrition Advocacy, Accreditation Council for Nutrition Professional Education, American Nutrition Association Foundation

[2] https://efsa.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/pdf/10.2903/j.efsa.2019.e170713

[3] https://www.yumda.de/news/1164261/es-gibt-weder-gesunde-noch-ungesunde-lebensmittel.html

[4] Miller JZ, et al., Heterogeneity of blood pressure response to dietary sodium restriction in normotensive adults., J Chronic Dis. 1987;40(3):245-50.

 

Unsere Lösung:

Wir arbeiten daran…

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies und unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu.